Bart Thompson

  Send Email  •  (304)292-3359

Rev'd Bart joined Spruce Street UMC in July of 2021. 

Pastor Bart has served in the WV Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church since 1994. He is an ordained Elder and full member of the Conference. He has served churches in the following counties: Cabell, Wayne, Mineral, Ohio, and Monongalia. He has served on many community,  conference, and district agencies, boards, and teams.

He is a graduate of Marshall University, Marshall Graduate School, and United Theological Seminary.

He likes to leads pilgrims on discovery trips to Methodist, Christian, Civil & Human Rights - spiritual or historical places in WV, MD, DC, Ireland, and the United Kingdom. He has preached in OH, KY, FL, NC, WV, VA, MD, TX, England, Ireland, and Northern Ireland.

He likes to read, walk, travel, follow the teams in Pittsburgh that wear black and gold, and drink tea. The best movie ever made is the God Father. The best movie and TV saga is Star Wars. The best books and movies are Tolkien.

His wife, Martha Ognibene, serves as pastor at Wesley UMC, in Morgantown, WV. Our grown children and their families (two daughters, one son)live in New Orleans and Virginia. 

Administrative Assistant

Madelaine Shultz

  Send Email  •  (304)292-3359

Madelaine joined us in February of 2020. 

Finance Secretary

Judy Kennell

  Send Email  •  (304)292-3359

Director of Music

Marguerite Bostonia

Marguerite became Music Director at SSUMC in early 2017 and has been active in church music all her life. Originally from Wellsburg, WV, she obtained music degrees from West Liberty University and WVU. Marguerite retired from the faculty of West Virginia Wesleyan College but still teaches private lessons. Her recent activities include affiliation with the Vox Principals Choral Association, and doctoral research and travel related to the music of composer Arvo Par whom she hopes to visit again at his music center in Estonia. 

Choir Director

Sam Spears

Dr. Sam Spears has over twenty years of experience as a choral conductor, church musician, and voice teacher. He has directed collegiate choirs, community choirs, and church choirs.  Over a long career in church music, he has worked in Methodist, Baptist, Episcopal, and non-denominational churches.  He has also served on the faculty at Fairmont State University, Emmanuel College, Florida International University, and Miami Dade College. 

Dr. Spears earned a DMA in Choral Conducting from the University of Miami in 2009.  He also earned a MM in Choral Conducting from the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music in 1997, and a BM in Voice Performance from Furman University in 1994.

Dr. Spears has sung professionally for many years, particularly as a choral singer.  He was a founding member of the Seraphic Fire vocal ensemble.  He has also sung with Spire Chamber Ensemble, Bel Canto Company, and the Vocal Arts Ensemble of Cincinnati.  Most recently, he helped co-found Maestri Vocale, a choral organization based in north-central West Virginia.  

Dr. Spears is an active member of several professional organizations, including the American Choral Directors Association and the National Association of Teachers of Singing.

Building Supervisor

Bonnie Johnson

Bonnie grew up in Morgantown and started attending SSUMC when she was only 7 years old. She met and married Robert and joined the Brethern Church until returning to Spruce Street where she became a faithful member, joining the choir and playing the handbells. Bonnie was hired by Dr. Roger Smith as the Building Supervisor, where she has continued to open thousands of doors and make millions of cups of coffee. She loves being involved with the WVU Community Choir and acting in plays at the MAC. She has traveled extensively, visiting National Parks  and state capitals, missing only Maine and Hawaii. Bonnie has a great passion for smiles, hugs, and being helpful in any way she can. God continues to bless her with an abundant grace-filled life. 

Nursery Coordinator

Kayla Lindsay

Children's Ministry

Lena Glowacky


Marcia Michaels

2022 Nominations Report

Church Council

Church Council Chairperson - Mark Wise

Church Council Secretary - 

Lay Leader - Ken Shanes

District Conference Delegate - Jennifer Burton

Lay Member of Annual Conference - Dan Erenrich

Church Treasurer - Gale Truman

Administrative Assistant - Madelaine Shultz

Financial Secretary - Judy Kennell

Choir Director/Organist - Marguerite Bostonia

Trustees - Dawna Johnson

Communications - Aly Hutzel

Children's Ministry - Lena Glowacky

Youth Ministry - Amy Carr

SPR - Pat Ryan

Finance - Linda Shanes

Nurture - Carolyn Carr

Witness - Judi McCracken

Membership Secretary - Kathy Hanko

Hospitality - Bonnie Johnson

Nursery - Kayla Lindsay

Church Historian - David Weaver

UM Women - Teresa Johnson

UM Men - Don Davis



2022: John Beaumont, Lee Beaumont

2023: Jessica Allen, Stacy Berry, Rick Probst

2024: Beverly Sanders, Judi McCracken


Nominations and Leadership Development

2022: Paul Hanko, Jennifer Burton, Barbara Kuhn

2023: Brian Johns, Tia Biro, Jay DeFabio

2024: Lee Beaumont, Maria Schlobohm, Penny Turley


Staff Parish Relations (SPR)

2022: Pat Ryan, Rita Friend, Dan Erenrich

2023: Cathy Glover, Jeridan Cowsert, Gary Schlobohm

2024: Eldon Callen, Ben McMullin, Stacy Berry

Lay Leader Ken Shanes



2022: Sue Carpenter, Rick Lee, Doug Stanger

2023: Keith Carr, Dawna Johnson, Dixie Downes

2024: Art Ford, Jason Kennell, Hank Burton



Chairperson - Linda Shanes

Lay Member of AC - Dan Erenrich

Minister - Bart Thompson

Church Council Chairperson - Mark Wise

SPR Representative - TBD by SPR

Trustees Representative - Dawna Johnson

Lay Leader - Ken Shanes

Financial Secretary - Judy Kennell

Treasurer - Gale Truman

At-Large: Brandi Helms


Refugee Ministry Coordinator - Henry Lee

New Ministry Teams for 2022

Worship - Jeridan Cowsert; others to join

Sheepdog - Freda Stotts; others to join

Vision (L3)

John Beaumont

Beverly Sanders

Carolyn Carr

Dan Erenrich

Dawna Johnson

Gale Truman

Jeridan Cowsert

Bonnie Johnson

Ken Shanes

David Weaver


Class Leader Coordinator - Don Davis


Technology Team

Patricia Harman

Hank Burton

Sara McMullen

Ben McMullen

Aly Hutzel

Samantha Goulet


  September 2022  
This Week's Events




Bible Search